Violation of No-Contact Order (NCOV) is one of the most common crime of domestic violence charged in Washington state. The crime is designated as domestic violence if the No-Contact order protects a household member, family member or someone with whom there is a dating relationship (please hyperlink to my Domestic Violence page).
Basically, the Prosecutor must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that there was a valid No-Contact order in place, the defendant had been given notice of the order, and that defendant willfully or knowingly violated the No-Contact Order.
Under statute, a violation of a No-Contact Order is a gross misdemeanor if there were not two previous convictions for violating similar protection orders. As such, a conviction could mean up to a year in jail and a $5,000.00 fine as well as mandatory DV penalties.
If the alleged contact also involved an assault and/or there were two or more previous convictions for violating a similar No-Contact Order, the contact would constitute a Class C felony. As an unranked offense the standard sentencing range would be 0-12 months in jail but as a Class C felony, the maximum penalty could be as high as five (5) years in prison and a $10,000.00 fine.
The following other statutes address the violation of No-Contact orders in Washington State: RCW 10.99.040, 10.99.050, 26.09.300, 26.10.220, 26.26.138, 26.44.063, 26.44.150, 26.50.06, 26.50.070, 26.50.130, 26.52.070, and 74.34.145.
If you or someone you care about is charged with Violation of a No-Contact Order in Skagit County or Whatcom County, call attorney Alexander Ransom today for a free, no-pressure case evaluation.